Pie and Coffee and Fidgety Zen

13 11 2009

So, since the move across the country has concluded, I’ve concluded it’s time to get back to my favorite hobby: FEEDING EVERYONE. In that vein, I’ve got some stuff in the works for later, but for now I’m going to tell you about cherry pie.

I love cherry pie. It is my favorite pie to make, I think, and the one I come back to repeatedly. I like lots of pies, but cherry’s just got something about it. Sweet, tart, reminds me of David Lynch, reminds me of good friends back home, what’s not to love? So last night, I made mini cherry pies. If you know me, you know how I like to make small, individual serving things, because everything is more fun in miniature. I tried a new recipe for the filling using canned cherries, and it did come out pretty delicious if I do say so myself. Next time I think I’d make them double-crust or lattice-top, and be sure to remember to buy vanilla ice cream! For the filling I used:

  • 3 15.5 oz cans organic pitted whole cherries, drained, and
  • 1 c of the juice from said cherries, reserved
  • 1 c vegan cane sugar
  • 1/4c potato starch
  • 1 tbsp vanilla bean paste (still using Singing Dog)

To make it, you simply:

  1. Combine cherry juice, sugar, and potato starch in a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat until it forms a thick gooey saucy paste (sounds gross, but it works).
  2. Stir in vanilla
  3. Pour over cherries & mix
  4. Pour into your pie crust!

I used my tried and true Better Homes and Gardens pie crust recipe. I’m sorry. I just can’t bring myself to try all these fussy recipes with cream cheese and forty-seven steps and blah blah blah. I’m lazy. I like butter and flour and salt and water all just fine with out any gussyin’ up. And it’s delicious and I’m not sorry!

pdxfall 040

These pies are all ready to go over to Shawn and Andrew’s. I dropped ’em off with some coffee to aid a heavy workload!

 

On to fidgety zen. This morning I finally dragged myself out of bed to go to 6a zazen at the nearest zen center, and let me tell you, I was pretty horribly prepared. The protocols seem a lot stricter here (which I don’t mind, but can’t follow currently as I don’t know them very well), especially the dress codes. Additionally, the protocols themselves are slightly different. And there was almost no one there, meaning it was very obvious when I was not doing the right stuff. And then as I was sitting there, trying to just overcome all my nervousness and feeling out of place and clear my head, my stomach starts rumbling. Loudly. Repeatedly. THANK YOU, PHYSIOLOGY. I finally got up and just left after 30 agonizing minutes of trying to do anything but agonize and failing miserably. Later, I made a drawing of how scattered I felt, and I thought I would share, since I so infrequently share anything other than food I make on this blog:

eats & drawring 007

I feel like WordPress makes things awfully blurry when I upload them, as it looks a lot better on my computer, but there you have it. It’s mostly a silly doodle but I sure felt a mess, and drawing it made me laugh about it a bit more!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

