Cinnamon rolls

12 09 2009

When I was a kid, my mother made biscuits literally every weekend. Once, my dad and I tried to figure out how many biscuits my mother had made, and I can’t remember the number but it was a lot. She really, really likes biscuits. So do I.

However, once in awhile, she’d use biscuit dough to make cinnamon rolls. Sounds weird, right? Well, I’m impatient (you may have noticed a trend what with the never chilling anything or planning more than 30 minutes ahead what I am cooking) and these are delicious, and everyone who eats them wants the recipe. I’ve made my own tweaks and so, without further ado, I give you delicious quick cinnamon rolls.

Donna’s Cinnamon Rolls

  • 3 c all-purpose flour
  • 4.5 tsp baking powder (I added an extra 1/2 tsp this time, and it really made a great difference in texture)
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 3/4c butter (heh)
  • 1c whole milk

for the streusel:

  • about 1c brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon powder
  • 1/4c all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 c butter

Preheat oven to 450F. Butter a 9-in round cake pan (I use a springform because I love springform pans). Mix dry ingredients; cut in your butter with a pastry blender until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Make a well in the center and add the milk all at once; stir until dough just comes together.

Turn out onto a lightly-floured surface and pat – don’t use a rolling pin – the dough into a rectangle that’s about 3/4inch thick.

Mix the flour, cinnamon and brown sugar together and cut in the butter; spread most of the streusel mix evenly atop the dough, reserving a bit for topping. Carefully roll up the dough rectangle, and cut into slices about 2 or 2.5 inches thick. Put the rolls into the cake pan; they should be very close but not actually touching. You want them to kind of all grow together while baking so the edges don’t get all hard and weird. I always feel like I’m chewing on one of those dough Christmas ornaments when I don’t make them this way. You should probably know I did that a lot as a child (but then again, I also liked mint so much I ate toothpaste until my mom threatened me with nothing but baking soda ever again). Top with the remaining streusel, patting a bit down atop each roll.

Put your cinnamon rolls in the oven for about 15-20 min, or until puffy and golden. Cool for 5-10 mins and be sure to cut them apart or they’ll just fall into a bunch of crumbs.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

