A quick weeknight recipe

1 09 2009

Okay guys. I hope you can all forgive me for this (har har) but I probably won’t often post photos anymore – I stayed away for so long because I realized I detest making everyone STOP and wait for me to take a photograph of a plate before I serve dinner. Half the reason I love cooking is that I get to share it with others and make them happy, and I end up feeling sort of neurotic and removed from that sense of community when I have to photograph everything. So, this will mostly just be recipes, but that’s okay with me, because mainly my friends and family read this anyhow.

Without further ado, this is a delicious casserole I made once awhile back and again last night. It rules. Please try it. Normally I don’t use meat subs, but they’re great in a pinch, and if you eat meat you could easily substitute already cooked chicken (I think… I’ve been vegetarian as long as I’ve been cooking).

Cheesy Chik’n and Plantain Casserole!

Ingredients:

4 large plantains or burro bananas, peeled
2 yellow onions, thinly sliced
3 anaheim peppers, diced (IT IS HATCH CHILE SEASON, PLEASE USE THEM INSTEAD! They’re hotter but oh so delicious)
Olive oil
5 large cloves of garlic, minced
1 8oz can tomato sauce
1 pkg Quorn pieces
1 tsp salt
cumin to taste
1 can black beans, drained and rinsed
8 oz shredded queso quesadilla (get it at the food hole, or possibly cm)

1. Slice plantains lengthwise and lay on a greased cookie sheet. Bake at 425 degrees for 10min or until they start to brown (mine took more like 20). Turn the oven down to 365.
2. In the meantime, saute peppers and onions in olive oil until soft; add garlic and saute 1 min more.
3. Add the tomato sauce, quorn, salt, and cumin. Cook until bubbly and Quorn is heated through.
4. Lightly grease a casserole dish. Lay 5 plantains slices in the bottom of the dish and layer 1/2 the Quorn mix on top. Spread the beans over the quorn, and slice any left over plaintains and spread atop the beans. If you can fit all your plantains in the bottom of the dish, that’s great too! Layer on the rest of the quorn mixture, and top with the shredded cheese.
5. Bake for 30 min at 365 degrees.

NOTE: Do not be an idiot like me. Please get some kitchen gloves to dice peppers. If you don’t, you will probably get what amounts to mild chemical burns from the raw peppers. It hurts like hell and is basically the dumbest way to injure yourself ever. Leave it to me on that front.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

