Tex-Mex meets cupcakes

13 08 2008

A good friend of ours had a barbeque recently, and I thought I’d make some cupcakes for dessert. I didn’t have a lot of time, so I went digging around in my pantry and refrigerator and found some limes, some lemon oil, and blue margarita salt I couldn’t imagine needing for my actual margaritas. I was apprehensive about putting salt on top of cupcakes, but I’d heard good things about baked goods with a little salt added on top (in the right setting) and so I decided to give it a go. I made lime cupcakes from a lemon cake recipe in my trusty Better Homes and Gardens cookbook (lime juice and lime zest instead of lemon juice and lemon zest), and then frosted them with a lemon buttercream. I know, I know. I always use buttercreams. They’re just easy and hold up well. Someday I will venture further!

The cupcakes came out with a really fantastic texture: light, fluffy, crisp on the top.

I used the lemon oil and some vanilla bean paste in the icing. I have to mix it all up in my food processor because I keep burning through my electric mixers. Le sigh, in the words of our Looney Tunes friend.

You can see the blue margarita salt. My worries were unfounded – the cupcakes were really a hit and the salt added the perfect depth to their flavor, not to mention a pretty garnish.

Actions

Information

One response

27 08 2008
MsC

These are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

