I swear, I’m crafty, too!

13 08 2008

One of the things I love most are my tattoos. All the ones I have that anyone sees (my first one is small and on my hip, which doesn’t show often, if at all) were done by the same guy, who is undoubtedly one of the most talented artists of whom I know, which is, of course, why I have him do all my tattoos. You can check him out on his website or on myspace by searching “Triple Crown Tattoo Parlour.” It’s a gorgeous parlor Scott started up himself in the last couple of years with two other incredibly talented artists. If you live here or are going to be in the area and want some ink… check ’em out!

Anyhow, Scott and his lovely wife Gabi are expecting a baby, and I decided to embroider a onesie for the incoming kiddo. I chose a Sailor-Jerry-flash-inspired swallow pattern:

and arranged the swallows so they’d be holding up a rattle. All my patterns came from Jenny Hart, author of Simply Stitching and fellow Austin resident, though I’m not sure why I’ve never drawn a pattern before. I love to draw and have been doing it since I was a kid, so I’ll have to venture that direction sometime soon. I also added a running stitch around the back and shoulders and some cross-stitches to embellish the shoulders:

I’m really pleased with the outcome. Here’s a shot of the finished onesie:

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

