The Cupcakes Post

18 07 2008

Well, the camera has failed me on the point of the matcha-vanilla cupcakes. They weren’t stellar, anyway, but they were interesting.

 

 

However! And this is a big however. The dessert I made for my dinner with Mom & Co. (detailed in the previous post) also consisted of cupcakes – and considerably more successful ones.

 

These were rose cupcakes (again, I just loved the flavor so much) with apricot filling and vanilla buttercream, rolled in almonds and topped with physalis fruit (also known as cape gooseberries, look ’em up on Wikipedia) and edible flowers. The physalis was dipped in white chocolate and rolled in almonds as well.

 

I just love the physalis garnish. It looks and tastes wonderful.

I just love the physalis garnish. It looks and tastes wonderful.

 

 

Really a pretty simple cake recipe: again, just a basic yellow cake with 2 tbsp rosewater added. For the buttercream, I used vegan margarine and vanilla bean paste instead of real butter and vanilla extract. Yum.

To make the apricot filling, I just pureed three apricots in my food processor with about 2 tbsp butter and 1/2 c powdered sugar, added some rosewater, and there you have it! I just baked the cupcakes as usual, and then cut the top off in a cone shape and piped the apricot in. For a better idea of what I mean by “in a cone shape,” the bottom of the top half of the cupcake looked like the way you cut the top off a pumpkin to make a jack-o-lantern. Does that help or hinder? I’ll take pictures next time.

As for the physalis garnish, I just melted some white chocolate down and dipped the fruit in, then rolled it in almonds and stuck it in the freezer for a bit. After that I stored them in the refrigerator and garnished with the fruit and the flowers right before serving, although I just ate one that I garnished last night and it was… pretty delicious.

 

The physalis fruit is in the center; the paper husks are decorative. And how!

The physalis fruit is in the center; the paper husks are decorative. And how!

 

And just look at those flowers. Liz and I ate them. Oh, yes, we did. They ARE edible, after all.

And just look at those flowers. Liz and I ate them. Oh, yes, we did. They ARE edible, after all.

 

 

Sadly, these pictures are all that remain. Well, sort of sadly. I did get to eat two of them.

Sadly, these pictures are all that remain. Well, sort of sadly. I did get to eat two of them.

Actions

Information

2 responses

20 08 2008
Maggie

I love the way these look! I didn’t know you could eat physalis. I always buy the pretty orange ones for fall decoration. You have really nice looking vegan buttercream. What brand of margarine do you use?

21 08 2008
Maggie

Thanks for answering! I always use Earth Balance tub for frostings because I think the taste is best but I hate when I need to add shortening to make the frosting more stable. I’ve bought the stick version once but haven’t made frosting with it. I just stopped buying it because the tub tastes better for on bread, etc. I have to try the sticks in frosting now.

Leave a Reply

