IRON CUPCAKE-EARTH!

29 08 2008

Okay! I finished my entry in Iron Cupcake in the nick of time, as I thought the deadline was the 31st – whups!

This month the challenge was to make a cupcake with chili pepper, and we were competing to win AWESOME stuff from great shops like Cakespy, Jessie Steele Aprons, Cupcake Courier, and Taste of Home. Wish me luck! However, I already got super great stuff, so really? I’m just glad to have made some tasty cupcakes =)

I made Chili-Coated Mango Cupcakes with Chili-Lime Frosting for a Mexican twist on cupcakes – again. Yep, again, I’m from Texas. Liz over at Things I Love About Austin made these cupcakes about six months ago and I swear, I wake up dreaming of them. I made them with eggs this time (local, humanely raised, and organic, of course), and rather than mango pulp I used mango puree. But the true secret?

I sprayed down my cupcake papers and coated the inside with a mixture of about 1/2 c sugar to 1 tsp dried ancho chili powder. Have you ever had a mango coated in chili-sugar? You should. It’s great.

Yum!

This is how they looked out of the oven:

For the frosting, I just used a basic butter icing and added more dried ancho chili powder, lime zest, and a little lemon oil for some extra citrus flavor.

I topped them with more chili-sugar and some more of that lovely blue margarita salt – gorgeous!

Sam approves.

Look how fluffy!

AND NOW! If you’d like to vote for my delicious cupcakes to win this month’s challenge, visit No One Puts Cupcake in a Corner and tell ‘em how you feel!

Actions

Information

5 responses

29 08 2008
bonnie

yummy!

29 08 2008
lisamichele

I love the sugar coated cupcake liner idea! It’s like sugaring ramekins for sweet souffles. Ingenious, and that light crunch on the outside must be heavenly! They look lovely all around :)

1 09 2008
My Sweet & Saucy

What a great entry! These look delish!

2 09 2008
zooey53

these sound awesome! what a great idea!

12 01 2009
Gracieb

I borrowed your idea for an “iron chef” birthday party with the theme pepper. I was assigned dessert, and my cupcakes won! I used a different recipe, but followed your suggestion for the frosting and covering the liners in chili-sugar. They were SO good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

